For Those Who Are Mourning

For Those Who Mourn

I struggled with whether or not to publish this post and the Bible verses following it.  I did not want to just toss words and Scripture around in such a way akin to slapping a band-aid on an unfathomable wound. 

I know too well that sometimes people and their advice & well-meant words just aren’t enough. Sometimes people’s words have left me feeling much emptier inside.  And I certainly don’t want to add to the sting of anyone’s pain & suffering. 

So, I’m here to admit I never know what to do at times like these when the pain is too deep, the sorrow seems like it will never heal, and it feels like nothing & nobody can give me or you comfort. 

In times of great pain when nothing helps, it’s here that Jesus has run to meet me.  I cannot even crawl to Jesus on days like these, so Jesus meets me–broken where I am–instead (especially on the days where I just don’t feel Him there at all).  He has never turned away from my soul-penetrating anguish.  

I have found I can turn to Jesus with every emotion I have and every pain I have encountered this far.  I know I can turn to Jesus, and He will more than understand because… 

Jesus grieved too.  He is not a stranger to sorrow or anything else we face. 

 Hebrews 4:14-16 NKJV says,For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin. 16 Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” 

Yes, Jesus will stand there and take it even when I’ve hurled insults at Him in angry, sorrowful prayers.  I have found that He will take every angry, tough question I have and not turn away from me(See Romans 8:31-39.) 

God Why

In my life, Jesus is the Only One who has always been at His Very Best when I’m at my very worst.  And, so I turn to Him.

I turn to Him with the innumerable heartaches of this life, with the many things that cannot be explained away, and with the “Why?’s.  And it hurts.  All of it hurts in ways that cannot be fully explained with words.  Sometimes it can feel like somebody has ripped my heart out, and I have no idea how I’m going to make it. 

So I don’t come to you with answers.  I don’t have any.  However, the only thing I have left after life’s hellish heartbreak is Jesus, and that I offer to you.  He is the only One who has “stood the test of time” in my life.

Below are some Bible verses.  I believe the Bible is the Holy Word of God, and, when I’ve been at the end of my rope, hearing God’s words have often been the only thing that helped.

 

May God be with and near each one of you.    I know there is nothing I can say to make what you’re facing better, but I am praying.  

May Jesus carry you.

In Isaiah 41:10 NKJV, God says,

“Fear not, for I am with you;
Be not dismayed, for I am your God.
I will strengthen you,
Yes, I will help you,
I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”

May Jesus “be with you,” “strengthen you,” “help you,” and “uphold you with [His] righteous right hand” today & always in every circumstance.

Most sincerely,

Little Sonshine Girl

♥     ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥    ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥     ♥

Bible Verses For Those Who Are Mourning

If You Need a Hand to Hold Adobe & Paint 2

Jesus Grieved Too

  • In the John 11:28-44 NKJV Bible passage, Jesus’s friend Lazurus died.  Even though Jesus would go on to raise Lazurus from the dead, Jesus, the Son of God, still sorrowed over his friend’s death.  If the Son of God mourned, it is okay for us to mourn too.  Note the verses I have emphasized below: 

John 11:28-44 NKJV And when she had said these things, she went her way and secretly called Mary her sister, saying, “The Teacher has come and is calling for you.” 29 As soon as she heard that, she arose quickly and came to Him. 30 Now Jesus had not yet come into the town, but was[b] in the place where Martha met Him. 31 Then the Jews who were with her in the house, and comforting her, when they saw that Mary rose up quickly and went out, followed her, saying, “She is going to the tomb to weep there.”[c]

32 Then, when Mary came where Jesus was, and saw Him, she fell down at His feet, saying to Him, “Lord, if You had been here, my brother would not have died.”

33 Therefore, when Jesus saw her weeping, and the Jews who came with her weeping, He groaned in the spirit and was troubled. 34 And He said, “Where have you laid him?”

They said to Him, “Lord, come and see.”

35 Jesus wept. 36 Then the Jews said, “See how He loved him!”

37 And some of them said, “Could not this Man, who opened the eyes of the blind, also have kept this man from dying?”

Lazarus Raised from the Dead

38 Then Jesus, again groaning in Himself, came to the tomb. It was a cave, and a stone lay against it. 39 Jesus said, “Take away the stone.”

Martha, the sister of him who was dead, said to Him, “Lord, by this time there is a stench, for he has been dead four days.”

40 Jesus said to her, “Did I not say to you that if you would believe you would see the glory of God?” 41 Then they took away the stone from the place where the dead man was lying.[d] And Jesus lifted up His eyes and said, “Father, I thank You that You have heard Me. 42 And I know that You always hear Me, but because of the people who are standing by I said this, that they may believe that You sent Me.” 43 Now when He had said these things, He cried with a loud voice, “Lazarus, come forth!” 44 And he who had died came out bound hand and foot with graveclothes, and his face was wrapped with a cloth. Jesus said to them, “Loose him, and let him go.”

  • Isaiah 53 NKJV says:  “He is despised and rejected by men, A Man of sorrows and acquainted with grief. And we hid, as it were, our faces from Him; He was despised, and we did not esteem Him.  4 Surely He has borne our griefs And carried our sorrows;

Love Suffers LongYet we esteemed Him stricken, Smitten by God, and afflicted. 5 But He was wounded for our transgressions, He was bruised for our iniquities; The chastisement for our peace was upon Him, And by His stripes we are healed. 6 All we like sheep have gone astray; We have turned, every one, to his own way; And the Lord has laid on Him the iniquity of us all.”

  • Hebrews 4:14-16 NKJV says that Jesus can sympathize with all of our weaknesses, yet was without sin.  Thus, we can bring our great “need” before Jesus without shame, and He offers us “mercy” and “grace.”  See the following verse: 

Hebrews 4:14-16 NKJV  (emphasis added) “Seeing then that we have a great High Priest who has passed through the heavens, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold fast our confession.  15 For we do not have a High Priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but was in all points tempted as we are, yet without sin. 16 Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.” 

One Thing Jesus Said about Grief

  • Matthew 5:1-12 NKJV  (emphases added) “And seeing the multitudes, He [Jesus] went up on a mountain, and when He was seated His disciples came to Him. 2 Then He opened His mouth and taught them, saying: 

3 ‘Blessed are the poor in spirit,

For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

4 Blessed are those who mourn,    

For they shall be comforted.

5 Blessed are the meek,    

For they shall inherit the earth.

6 Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness,    

For they shall be filled.

7 Blessed are the merciful,    

For they shall obtain mercy.

8 Blessed are the pure in heart,    

For they shall see God.

9 Blessed are the peacemakers,    

For they shall be called sons of God.

10 Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake,

     For theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

11 ‘Blessed are you when they revile and persecute you, and say all kinds of evil against you falsely for My sake. 12 Rejoice and be exceedingly glad, for great is your reward in heaven, for so they persecuted the prophets who were before you.'”

If you don’t even know what to pray, it’s okay (See verse Romans 8:26***below). 

  • Romans 8:18-27 NKJV  (emphases added) “For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us. 19 For the earnest expectation of the creation eagerly waits for the revealing of the sons of God. 20 For the creation was subjected to futility, not willingly, but because of Him who subjected it in hope; 21 because the creation itself also will be delivered from the bondage of corruption into the glorious liberty of the children of God. 22 For we know that the whole creation groans and labors with birth pangs together until now. 23 Not only that, but we also who have the firstfruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, eagerly waiting for the adoption, the redemption of our body. 24 For we were saved in this hope, but hope that is seen is not hope; for why does one still hope for what he sees? 25 But if we hope for what we do not see, we eagerly wait for it with perseverance.

26 ***Likewise the Spirit also helps in our weaknesses. For we do not know what we should pray for as we ought, but the Spirit Himself makes intercession for us[b] with groanings which cannot be uttered. 

27 Now He who searches the hearts knows what the mind of the Spirit is, because He makes intercession for the saints according to the will of God.

If You Feel Like You’re at the Bottom of a Pit You Cannot Escape…

Psalm 18:1-6 & 16-19 NKJV (emphases added)

“God the Sovereign Savior, To the Chief Musician. A Psalm of David the servant of the Lord, who spoke to the Lord the words of this song on the day that the Lord delivered him from the hand of all his enemies and from the hand of Saul. And he said:

18 I will love You, O Lord, my strength.

2 The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer;

My God, my strength, in whom I will trust;

My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.

3 I will call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised;

So shall I be saved from my enemies.

4 The pangs of death surrounded me,

And the floods of ungodliness made me afraid.

5 The sorrows of Sheol surrounded me;

The snares of death confronted me.

6 In my distress I called upon the Lord,

And cried out to my God;

He heard my voice from His temple,

And my cry came before Him, even to His ears[…]

[…] 16 He sent from above, He took me;
He drew me out of many waters.
17 He delivered me from my strong enemy,
From those who hated me,
For they were too strong for me.
18 They confronted me in the day of my calamity,
But the Lord was my support.
19 He also brought me out into a broad place;
He delivered me because He delighted in me.”

If You Think God Just Doesn’t Care Anymore…

Be merciful to me, O God, for man would swallow me up;

Fighting all day he oppresses me.

2 My enemies would hound me all day,

For there are many who fight against me, O Most High.

3 Whenever I am afraid, I will trust in You.

4 In God (I will praise His word),

In God I have put my trust;

I will not fear.

What can flesh do to me?

5 All day they twist my words;

All their thoughts are against me for evil.

6 They gather together,

They hide, they mark my steps,

When they lie in wait for my life.

7 Shall they escape by iniquity?

In anger cast down the peoples, O God!

8 You number my wanderings;

Put my tears into Your bottle;

Are they not in Your book?”

Breaking Heart

Dear God,

We are so broken today.

I know You hear our cries, the innumerable cries in our hearts right now that words cannot express.  

God, please be with those who are hurting today.  Be so near they feel You as they face unimaginable tragedy. 

And, if they just cannot feel You today, LORD, help them to know You more than okay with that, that You can handle whatever emotions they have. 

I know You hurt when we hurt, so, dear God, please carry them through this time of suffering.

Thank You for caring so much, Jesus.  Thank You for being “for us” in our time of need.  

Please be what we, as humans, cannot be to everyone who reads this and to all of those who are hurting today. 

Help them, dear Jesus. 

Forever yours, LORD,

Your Little Sonshine Girl

One thought on “For Those Who Are Mourning

  1. […] For Those Who Are Mourning (littlesonshinegirl.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

